A Perpetual Calendar.

The Book of Days is a hard-bound calendar that I picked up recently. It’s very nice, with thick pages that withstand lots of ink, and it’s decorated with full-color and captioned images from the ancient Egyptian Book of the Dead. This book is different than your average one-and-done calendar in another way, too: the days of each month are numbered, but are not assigned a weekday. This means that this particular calendar is not meant for a single year, but rather to keep track of yearly events regardless of what year it actually is. It’s marketed as a perpetual calendar to keep track of all the birthdays, anniversaries, and various other momentous occasions that take place from year to year, but I don’t care about any of that. I got it because I had in mind a better use for it: the Tarot.

HPIM0436

I was looking for something like this to replace the crummy old datebook in which I’d previously recorded the suggested dates for each Wildwood Tarot card (if you’re unfamiliar with the Wheel of the Year and how the Wildwood relates, you can check out my post about it here). Using green ink, I went through each page of the calendar and wrote down each card from the WWT on its respective date.

It occurred to me partway through this endeavor that I have at least one other deck with cards that can correspond with dates on a calendar: the Thoth Tarot. Using the astrological attributions for the court and small cards given in DuQuette’s book Understanding Aleister Crowley’s Thoth Tarot (which is far more user-friendly than Crowley’s own book and includes handy charts with exactly the information I needed for this project), I sat down and wrote the cards into their respective dates alongside the Wildwood (using black ink this time to more easily differentiate between the two in my calendar). I’ve yet to tackle the issue of the Major Arcana, although I plan on working through them shortly.

The result is now I have a perpetual Tarot calendar, simultaneously keeping track of the Earthly Wheel of the Year and the Heavenly Wheel of the Zodiac, and there’s still plenty of room left over should I find another Tarot that can similarly relate to a calendar.

Now it’s a simple matter for me to look up the date and find the cards of the day. It’s a fantastic way to get to know my cards on a more intimate level, or to focus my thoughts for each day. With the Wildwood, I’ve experienced great spiritual insight already by using it like a calendar, albeit sporadically, and this will only better facilitate that. I’m interested to begin to use the Thoth in this fashion, as well. And I haven’t tried this yet, but I think it would be interesting to draw a card from a third deck at random (a daily draw) and see how it relates to the WWT and the CHT cards of its day.

Anyway, I just thought I’d share this on here in case anyone else found the idea of a Tarot calendar interesting. Fair warning, though: it’s meticulous work, and it can be somewhat tedious flipping through pages and writing down each card on its date. You have to pay attention to what you’re doing, because it’s very easy to screw up. Trust me, I know from experience.

HPIM0437
I found masking tape to be an adequate solution for my blunders. There’s enough showing through to remind the jackass writing to PAY ATTENTION to what he’s doing in the future.

 

5 thoughts on “A Perpetual Calendar.”

  1. This is a great idea! I have been thinking of late that I would like to get serious in studying the wildwood and how it relates to the wheel of the year. I love the deck so much and would love to spend more time with it. The Thoth deck is beautiful beyond words but I don’t know if I want to learn the system. I look at the cards frequently and admire them but have yet to read with them

    Like

    1. The Wildwood is an awesome deck, and I recommend studying it and reading with it. I’m always amazed by it.
      The Thoth is a little more difficult to approach, at least for reading, but I find the system fascinating. I am by no means a master of it, but I get as much satisfaction learning that system as I do any other. Do you have any books for the Thoth?

      Like

      1. I agree with the Wildwood deck, I am never disappointed and it is a comforting and enchanting place to be in. I don’t have any Thoth books, I think maybe a pdf of Liber T, and a couple others but nothing I have read.

        Like

      2. Well, I would recommend the book I mentioned in this post, “Understanding Aleister Crowley’s Thoth Tarot” by Lon Milo Duquette. I can’t overstate how much that book helps clean up the murk of the Thoth. Of course, Crowley’s own “Book of Thoth” is out there, but you may want to hold off on that until you read Duquette’s, because it’s not exactly straightforward. The only other book I have on the Thoth is Gerd Ziegler’s “Tarot: Mirror of the Soul”, which doesn’t so much focus on Crowley’s system as it does just look at the cards and some of their symbolism, but I found this book to be very helpful as well. It’s a good, meditative counterbalance to all the theory in the other two books, and some of the spreads in it are really good. If you were ever to decide to do more with the Thoth than just appreciate the art (which is amazing in its own right, I agree), it would not be a bad idea to pick up some books. I like books for everything, but this is one instance where I’d say the books are of particular help. The cards are almost too intimidating to use on their own, with no background knowledge.

        Like

      3. I have had Duquette’s book on my wishlist for a while, I should bite the bullet and buy it. Thank you for the recommendations, I had not heard of the other one.

        Like

Leave a Reply

